Skip to content

Shady Lake

September 22, 2010

So, I’m not too good at keeping up with my blog. I’ve been busy lately and honestly, forgot about it. I am going to work on it more this next month or so. I’ll be restarting my 365 project with the start of Autumn tomorrow. It’s one of my favorite seasons and we have lots of fun things in the upcoming weeks.

Anyway, over Labor Day weekend my family along with my parents and brother and his family went camping together. As kids, my grandparents took all 7 of their grandkids camping at the most beautiful, peaceful place ever. Shady Lake, Arkansas is in the Ouachita National Forest. So not only is it beautiful, but brings back some of my favorite memories of childhood.

DSC_0109_edited-1

I can just look at that picture and get happy.  Another favorite shot of Shady Lake is the dam. Every year, we stop and get a picture of the dam. I have several identical pictures from over the years. As kids, we all thought it was a gigantic waterfall, but also a sign that we were there, finally!

DSC_0103_edited-1

Now it makes me smile that Chance has that same excitement when he sees the “waterfall” He wants to stop, get out, have the obligatory picture by it, etc.

DSC_0098_edited-1

DSC_0118_edited-1

From there, you can walk down a trail to get a better view (or picture taking opportunity if you’re me) of the swimming area and pavilion.
DSC_0111_edited-1

We got to our camp and set up. Bailey LOVED all the rocks. She’d try to pick up the big ones. The little ones she’d tap on her chin until I wasn’t looking, then try to sneak in her mouth. Sneaky girl!
DSC_0123_edited-1

I’d do the rest of our trip and afternoon at Little Missouri Falls another day to keep from boring you too much.

One Comment leave one →
  1. lartdejournalier permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:20 PM

    I really enjoy the pink beach ball about to go over the dam…it’s like a piece of real humanity in contrast to the structured concrete.

Leave a Reply

