Skip to content

Chuckwagons

October 25, 2010

I really enjoyed the chuckwagon cookoff. I wish it was more authentic, they were allowed to use some modern conveniences, so you might see spray PAM next to the dutch ovens. Or a Wal-Mart sack next to the cooking area of the chuckwagon. For the most part though, it was fairly authentic.

I LOVED all the old clocks everyone had on their chuckwagon kitchens.
DSC_0265_edited-1

Notice the old fashioned stuff right beside the modern baking powder container and nutrition facts label.

DSC_0242_edited-1

All the chuckwagons had a water barrel on the sides.
DSC_0161_edited-1

Most also had a shaving area with mirror.
DSC_0105_edited-1

This was probably one of my favorite pictures from the entire day.
DSC_0191_edited-1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lartdejournalier permalink
    November 6, 2010 9:49 PM

    I really like these…so much!
    Did you manage to get the lighting just right and your camera adjusted to get that kind of old time feel or did you alter them after.

    Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. November 7, 2010 12:22 AM

    I’m normally not a big fan of a lot of processing, but these just called for a vintage feel, IMO. So I added a little in Photoshop. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I wonder if I could get a similar effect in camera? I’ll have to play around and see.

Leave a Reply

